Yifat Fishman Illustrations & Thoughts

Praises for tracing paper

Leave a comment

2014-09-23 10.44.40-1

Lately, I’ve become fond of tracing paper. It may have something to do with childhood memories of working with it in elementary school? or was it later, in college? probably the latter. I use tracing paper for transferring a sketch to a linoleum block, where the tracing paper’s transparency comes in handy as it can be flipped over for the image on the block has to be a mirror image of the original. I’ve also used tracing paper for quick sketching and positioning elements of a picture before deciding on a final composition. And then, I started using the tracing paper for trying out color schemes for an illustration.  It’s so handy. A quick rendering over the pencil sketch with rough pastel is just so satisfying. Then combining all the layers together, the pencil drawing, the print and the colored  tracing paper, eh voila! The planned illustration becomes tangible. And I can’t wait for the print to dry so that I could draw and paint the final art.

2014-09-22 14.39.20

So, going back to this print. With the pencil sketch completed I wanted to move on to printing a section of it. As this spread has three spot illustrations combined to  one scene, and since it took me a while to decide on the composition, I wanted a fast reward. So this time guts called the shots. The linoleum carving and printing were all one day’s work. My right hand protested but I could still eat a snack halfway through the work, using  my left hand, if somewhat awkwardly, so on with it until the work was done.

2014-09-22 14.39.43

 

 

Leave a Reply

